What State Can You Get A Tattoo At 16?

What State Can You Get A Tattoo At 16
In the United States there is no federal law regulating the practice of tattooing. However, all 50 states and the District of Columbia have statutory laws requiring a person receiving a tattoo be at least 18 years old.

Can I get a tattoo when I’m 16?

Other Countries –

  • Austria, Germany, and Denmark also have an age minimum of 18, but with some exceptions.
  • Countries like Bulgaria, Czech Republic, and Hungary have no age restrictions
  • Spain allows minors as young as 14 to be tattooed with parent consent.
  • France has an age minimum of 16.

.

Can you get a tattoo at 16 in Tennessee?

(a) Except as provided in subsection (c), it is a Class A misdemeanor to tattoo a person under eighteen (18) years of age.

Can a 17 year old get a tattoo in Washington State?

Applying tattoo to a minor — Penalty. – Every person who applies a tattoo to any minor under the age of eighteen is guilty of a misdemeanor. It is not a defense to a violation of this section that the person applying the tattoo did not know the minor’s age unless the person applying the tattoo establishes by a preponderance of the evidence that he or she made a reasonable, bona fide attempt to ascertain the true age of the minor by requiring production of a driver’s license or other picture identification card or paper and did not rely solely on the oral allegations or apparent age of the minor.

Can I get a tattoo at 16 in Nevada?

Alabama  Ala. Code § 22-1-17A Regulation of Tattooing, Branding, and Body Piercing. Prohibits anyone from performing a tattoo, brand or body piercing on a minor unless prior written informed consent is obtained from the minor’s parent or legal guardian. Arizona  Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-3721 Tattooing and Body Piercing-Establishes that it is unlawful to either tattoo or pierce anyone under age 18 without the physical presence of the parent or legal guardian. Arkansas  Ark. Stat. Ann. §§ 20-27-1501 et seq. Body Piercing, Branding, and Tattooing. Tattoo and permanent cosmetic artists are required to be certified; the law addresses body piercing as a form of body art; requires an annual license fee for a tattoo, body piercing and permanent cosmetic artists/shops. Arkansas  Ark. Stat. Ann. § 5-27-228 Tattooing and Body Piercing-Prohibits anyone from doing “body art” (tattooing, piercing or branding) on a minor without the written consent and presence of one of the minor’s parents, a guardian or a custodian. Alaska Alaska Stat. §08. 13 12 AAC 09 specifically govern the practice of barbering, hairdressing, esthetics, tattoo and permanent cosmetic coloring, and body piercing. Alaska Stat. §08. 01 – 08. 03 and regulations 12 AAC 02 apply to all professions regulated by the division. Alaska Alaska Stat. §08. 13. 217 Tattooing-Establishes that it is unlawful to practice tattooing and permanent cosmetic coloring on a minor. Alaska   Body Piercing-Prohibits anyone from practicing body piercing on a minor without prior written approval from the minor’s parent or legal guardian and the presence of the parent or legal guardian during the body piercing procedure. California  Cal. Health & Safety Code § 119300 to 119328 Body Art. The California Conference of Local Health Officers shall establish sterilization, sanitation, and safety standards for persons engaged in the business of tattooing, body piercing, or permanent cosmetics. California   Cal. Penal Code 653 Tattooing-Establishes that it is a misdemeanor for any person to tattoo or offer to tattoo anyone under age 18. California    Body Piercing-Prohibits anyone from performing or offering to perform a piercing upon anyone under age 18 unless the piercing is performed in the presence of a parent or guardian or as directed and notarized by the minor’s parent or guardian. Does not apply to emancipated minors and does not include pierces of the ear. Colorado  Colo. Rev. Stat. § 25-4-2101 to 2103 Tattooing and Body Piercing-Prohibits anyone from performing a body art procedure on a minor unless the artist has received express consent from the minor’s parent or guardian. Connecticut  Conn. Gen. Stat. §19a-92g Tattooing-Establishes that it is illegal to tattoo an unemancipated minor under age 18 without the permission of the minor’s parent or guardian. Connecticut    Department of Public Health does not have jurisdiction over body piercing. District of Columbia  D. Code Ann. § 47-2853. 76d It is unlawful for a person to perform body art procedures unless the person is licensed by and registered with the Mayor to perform body art procedures. Also establishes that body art procedures are prohibited on persons under 18 years of age, except ear piercing using a mechanized, pre-sterilized single-use stud and ear clasp gun. Delaware  Del. Code Ann. tit. 16, §122(3)(w) Establish standards for the sanitary operation of tattoo parlors and body piercing establishments. For purposes of this paragraph, “tattoo parlor” means a person or business that makes permanent marks on human skin by puncturing the skin and inserting an indelible color or by producing scarring. Delaware  Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §1114(a) Tattooing and Body Piercing- It is illegal for a person to either knowingly or negligently tattoo or pierce a minor without the prior written consent of the adult parent or legal guardian. Florida  Fla. Stat. §381. 075 Regulation of body-piercing salons. Florida  Fla. Stat. §381. 0775 et seq. Tattoo establishments; licensure; temporary establishments Florida  Fla. Stat. § 381. 00787 Tattooing Prohibited; Penalty. It is unlawful for any person to tattoo the body of any human being; except that tattoing may be performed by a person licensed to practice medicine or dentistry, or by a person under the general supervision as defined by Board of Medicine. Florida    Tattooing-Requires written, notarized consent of a minor’s parent or legal guardian in order to tattoo a minor. Georgia  Ga. Code § 31-40-1 to 31-40-10 Tattoo Studios. Georgia  Ga. Code § 16-12-5 Unlawful to tattoo within an inch of the eye socket. Georgia  Ga. Code § 16-5-71. 1 Tattooing-Prohibits the tattooing of anyone under age 18 by anyone other than a licensed osteopath or technician acting under the direct supervision of a licensed physician or osteopath. Hawaii  Hawaii Rev. Stat. § 321-13 Tattoo Artist. Sets forth public health requirements for tattoo licensing and operations. Hawaii  Hawaii Rev. Stat. § 321-379 Tattooing of Minors. Tattooing any person under the age of eighteen without the written consent of the person’s parent or legal guardian or not maintaining the consent forms in a confidential manner at the tattoo shop for not less than two years Idaho  Idaho Code § 18-1523 (2004) Tattooing and Body Piercing-Prohibits the tattooing, branding or body piercing of minors under the age of 14. Prohibits the tattooing, branding or body piercing of anyone between the ages of 14 and 18 without the written informed consent of the minor’s parent or legal guardian. Written informed consent must be executed in the presence of the person performing the act or an employee or agent of that person. Illinois  Ill. Rev. Stat. 410 §54/1 to 54/999 Tattoo and Body Piercing Establishment Registration Act. Provides for public health, safety and welfare requirements for tattoo and body piercing establishments. Illinois  Ill. Rev. Stat. 720 §5/12C-35 Tattooing-It is a Class A misdemeanor for anyone other than a person licensed to practice medicine in all branches to tattoo or offer to tattoo a person under age 18. It is also a Class A misdemeanor to allow a person under 18 years of age to remain on the premises where tattoos are being performed or offered without a parent or legal guardian. Indiana SECTION 1. IC 25-1-19 Prohibits the act of performing or offering to perform scleral tattooing. Provides an exception for the act of a licensed health care professional when the act is performed in the scope of the health care professional’s practice. Indiana  Ind. Code Ann. §16-19-3-4. 1 Tattoo and Body Piercing. Provides a guide for the sanitary operations of tattoo and body piercing facilities in Indiana. Indiana  Ind. Code Ann. §35-42-2-7 Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor – Requires a minor’s parent or legal guardian to be present in order to either tattoo or perform a body piercing on a minor under age 18. Requires the parent or guardian to also provide written permission for the minor to receive the tattoo or piercing. Iowa  Iowa Code §135. 37 Tattooing Establishments and Tattoo Artists. Permit and operational requirements for tattooing establishments and tattoo artists. Iowa  Iowa Code §135. 37 Tattooing of Minors – Prohibits anyone from tattooing an unmarried minor under age 18. Kansas  Kan. Stat. Ann. §65-1940 to 65-1954 Tattoo, Body Piercing and Cosmetic Tattoo. No person, including a tattoo artist, cosmetic tattoo artist or body piercer, shall perform tattooing, cosmetic tattooing or body piercing on another person, display a sign or in any other way advertise or purport to be a tattoo artist, cosmetic tattoo artist or body piercer unless that person holds a valid license issued by the board. Kansas  Kan. Stat. Ann. §65-1953 Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor – Prohibits anyone from performing body piercing, cosmetic tattooing or tattooing on anyone under age 18 without written and notarized consent and presence of the minor’s parent or court-appointed guardian during the procedure. Requires the individual who performs the body piercing to keep a copy of the written permission on file for a period of five years. Violators are guilty of a class A misdemeanor. Kentucky  Ky. Rev. Stat. §194A. 050; 211. 760 Tattooing. The Department for Public Health, Division of Public Health Food Safety Branch develops the statewide Tattoo, Body Piercing and Ear Piercing Program plans, objectives, policies and procedures and helps local health departments carry out state law. The program registers tattoo artists and body and ear piercers and certify studios. Kentucky Ky. Rev. Stat. §211. 760 Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor – Prohibits anyone from tattooing or piercing minors without the written, notarized consent of a parent or guardian. Louisiana  La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 40:2831 et seq. Commercial Body Art. Each facility engaging in tattooing, body-piercing, or other CBA activities is required to be permitted in accordance with these regulations and each person performing said tasks must be registered with the state. Louisiana  La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §14:93. 2 Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor – It is unlawful for anyone to tattoo or pierce a minor under age 18 without the consent of the minor’s parent or legal custodian, who must accompany them to the procedure. Maine  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Title 32 §4201 to 4301 Tattoo Artist. Sets forth public health requirements for tattoo licensing and operations. Maine  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Title 32 §4321 to 4329 Body Piercing. A Department of Health and Human Services license is required for any person who practices the art of body piercing, comprising creation of an opening in the body of a human being for the purpose of inserting jewelry or decorations. Maine  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Title 32 §4203 Tattooing of a Minor – Establishes that it is illegal to tattoo anyone under age 18. Maine  Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. Title 32 §4323 Body Piercing of a Minor – Requires prior written consent of a minor’s parent or legal guardian to perform body piercing on anyone under age 18. Maryland Code of Md. Regs. 10. 06. 01. 0 Cosmetic Tattooing. Dept of Health and Mental Hygiene prohibits tattooing in salons. Skin-Penetrating Body Adornment Procedures (including tattooing) must protect against infections. Massachusetts  Mass. Gen. Law ch. 111, §31 General Authority. Allows boards of health to promulgate reasonable health regulations. Massachusetts    Model Regulations for Body Art Establishments. Body Art regulations (body piercing, tattooing and branding/scarification) have been drafted and reviewed setting forth a model code for the practice of body art and for the maintenance and operation of body art. Massachusetts  Mass. Gen. Law ch. 112, §2 Tattooing – Tattooing must be performed by a qualified physician. Michigan  Mich. Comp. Laws §333. 13101 to 333. 13112 Body Art Facilities. Duties of a person who owns or operates a body art facility; Section 333. 13104. Tattooing, branding, or performing body-piercing; licensure of body art facility required; application; form; issuance; duration; fees. Michigan  Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §333. 13102 Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor. Prohibits anyone from either tattooing or performing a piercing on a minor without the prior written, informed consent of the minor’s parent or legal guardian. Requires the parent or legal guardian to execute the consent in the presence of either the person performing the body piercing or tattooing on the minor or in the presence of an employee or agent of the individual. Minnesota  Minn. Stat. §§146B. 01 to 146B. 10 Body Art. No person acting individually or jointly with any other person may maintain, own, or operate a body art establishment in the state without an establishment license issued by the commissioner. Minnesota  Minn. Stat. §§325F. 814 Body Piercing. Minnesota  Minn. Stat. §609. 2246 Tattooing of a Minor – It is unlawful for anyone under age 18 to receive a tattoo without written parental consent. Minnesota    Piercing of a Minor – Prohibits a person from body piercing anyone under age 18 unless they have witnessed written parental consent. Violators are guilty of a misdemeanor. Mississippi  Miss. Code Ann. §73-61-1 et seq. Tattooing and Body Piercing. It shall be unlawful for any individual to perform tattooing and/or body piercing upon any person for compensation with the state without possessing a current and valid Certificate of Registration issued by the Department of Health. Mississippi  Miss. Code Ann. §73-61-3 Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor – Prohibits anyone from tattooing or piercing a minor under age 18. Violators are guilty of a misdemeanor and will be fined a maximum of $500. Missouri  Mo. Rev. Stat. §324. 520 to 324. 526 Occupations and Professions. No practitioner of tattooing, body piercing or branding shall practice and no establishment in which tattoos, body piercing or brandings are applied shall be operated without a license issued by the director of the division of professional registration. Missouri  Mo. Rev. Stat. §324. 520 Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor. Prohibits anyone from knowingly tattooing or piercing a minor without prior written, informed consent of the minor’s parent or legal guardian. Requires the parent or legal guardian to execute the written consent in the presence of either the person performing the tattooing or body piercing or an employee or agent of that person.

Piercing of the earlobes and piercing for medical purposes are exempted from this legislation. Does not include emancipated minors. Violators are guilty of a misdemeanor and will be fined a maximum of $500.

Subsequent violations within one year of the initial violation will be subject to a fine of between $500 and $1,000.

You might be interested:  What Should I Put On My Tattoo?
Montana  Mont. Code Ann. §§50-48-101 to 110; §§50-48-201 to 209 Tattooing and body piercing. The regulation of tattooing and body piercing establishments is required to protect public health and safety. Montana  Mont. Code Ann. §45-5-623 Tattooing of a Minor – Prohibits anyone from knowingly tattooing or piercing a child under the age of majority without the explicit in-person consent of the child’s parent or guardian. Montana  Upon conviction, violators will be either fined a maximum of $500, imprisoned for up to six months, or both. Those convicted of a second offense will either be fined a maximum of $1,000, imprisoned for up to six months, or both. Nebraska  Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-1001 to 38-10,171 Cosmetology, Electrology, Esthetics, Nail Technology and Body Art – Combines tattooing and piercing as one practice called “body art. ” Requires licensure by the Department of Cosmetology, Electrology, Esthetics, Nail Technology, and Body Art Practice Act. Nebraska    Performing Body Art on a minor – Defines unprofessional conduct for licensing purposes as, in part, knowingly performing body art on a person under 18 years of age without prior written consent of the person’s parent or court-appointed guardian. Nevada    State of Nevada does not regulate tattoo or piercing shops. Clark County (Las Vegas) does have an ordinance on tattooing. New Hampshire  Duties. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 314-A:1 tp 314-A:13 Body Art. It shall be unlawful for any person to practice body piercing, branding, or tattooing without a license. Requires the licensure and regulation of body art practitioners, electrologists, massage therapists, and ophthalmic dispensers, including establishing a facility license for body piercing, branding, or tattooing facilities. New Hampshire  N. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 314-A:8 Body Piercing on a Minor. Prohibits performing a body piercing on a person under the age of 18 without consent of that person’s parent or legal guardian. Requires the consenting individual to be physically present at the time of piercing, to provide evidence of status as parent or legal guardian, and to sign a document that provides informed consent. New Jersey  N. Stat. Ann. §26-1A-7 State Sanitary Code New Jersey  N. 8:27-1 et seq. Body Art Procedures. Establishes sterilization, sanitation, and safety standards for persons engaged in the business of tattooing, permanent cosmetics, and ear and body piercing in order to protect the public’s health. New Jersey  N. Stat. Ann. §2C:40-21 Tattooing and body piercing of minors – Requires prior written permission of a minor’s parent or legal guardian to tattoo or perform body piercing on anyone under the age of 18. New Mexico  N. Stat. Ann. § 61-17B-1 et seq. Body Art Safe Practices Act. The purpose of the Body Art Safe Practices Act is to provide a safe and healthy environment for the administration of body art. New Mexico  N. Administrative Code 16. 36. 2 et seq. Body Art Licensing Requirements – training and licensing is required for tattooing, piercing, scarification and other forms of body art. Establishments must be licensed. New York  N. Public Health Law §460-466 Regulation of Body Piercing and Tattooing. New York  N. Public Health Law § 460A; N. Penal Law § 260. 21 Tattooing of a Minor – It is unlawful to tattoo the body of a child less than 18 years old. Any person who does so is guilty of unlawfully dealing with a child in the second degree, a class B misdemeanor. North Carolina N. Gen. Stat. §130A-283 Tattooing regulated. No person shall engage in tattooing without first obtaining a tattooing permit from the Department. Licensed physicians, as well as physician assistants and nurse practitioners working under the supervision of a licensed physician, who perform tattooing within the normal course of their professional practice, are exempt from the requirements of this Part. North Carolina N. Gen. Stat. §14-400 Tattooing; body piercing of a minor prohibited. North Dakota N. Cent. Code §23-01-35 Tattooing, body piercing, branding, subdermal implants, or scarification–Adoption of Rules. North Dakota N. Cent. Code §12. 1-31-13 Tattooing, branding, subdermal implants, scarifying and piercing of a Minor. Prohibits the piercing or tattooing of a minor without the presence and consent of the parent. It is also a Class B misdemeanor to sell tattooing or piercing equipment to a minor. Ohio Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §3730. 01 to 3730. 99 Tattooing or Body Piercing Services. Ohio Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §3730. 06 to 3730. 08 Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor – It is illegal to tattoo, body pierce or pierce the ears of anyone under age 18 without the consent of the minor’s parent, guardian or custodian. Requires the consenting individual to appear in person at the business at the time the procedure is performed and sign a document that provides informed consent. Oklahoma Okla. Stat. tit. 21 §842. 1 to 842. 3 Body Art – All body piercing operators, tattoo operators and artists shall be prohibited from performing body piercing or tattooing unless licensed in the appropriate category by the State Department of Public Health. Oregon  Or. Rev. Stat. §690. 350 et seq. ; Or. Rev. Stat. §690. 401 to 410 Body Art Practitioners. Board of Body Art Practitioners. Requires licensing and certification of practitioners by the Office of Health Licensing. Oregon  Or. Rev. Stat. §679. 500 Permits dentists to administer local anesthesia for people seeking permanent lip color from a licensed tattoo artist. Pennsylvania  Pa. Cons. Stat. tit. 18 §6311 Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor – It is unlawful to provide tattoo or body piercing services to anyone under age 18 without the consent of the parent or guardian who is present at the time of the procedure. Rhode Island  R. Gen. Laws §23-1-39 Tattooing and Body Piercing- The director shall promulgate rules and regulations which provide minimum requirements to be met by any person performing tattooing and/or body piercing upon any individual and for any establishment where tattooing and/or body piercing is performed. These requirements shall include, but not be limited to, general sanitation of premises wherein tattooing and/or body piercing is to be performed and sterilization of instruments. South Carolina S. Code Ann. §44-34-10 to 44-34-110 Tattooing – The Department of Health and Environmental Control must establish by regulation sterilization, sanitation, and safety standards for persons engaged in the business of tattooing. The department must provide the necessary resources to support the development of these standards. The standards must be directed at establishment and maintenance of sterile conditions and safe disposal of instruments. The standards may be modified in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act as appropriate to protect consumers from transmission of contagious diseases through cross-contamination of instruments and supplies. South Carolina S. Code Ann. §44-34-60 Tattooing. Prohibits tattooing anyone under the age of 21. If a person is at least 18, they may get a tattoo with parental consent. South Carolina S. Code Ann. §44-32-10 to 44-32-120 Body Piercing – The Department of Health and Environmental Control shall establish sterilization, sanitation, and safety standards for persons engaged in the business of body piercing. The department shall provide the necessary resources to support the development of these standards. The standards must be directed at establishment and maintenance of sterile conditions and safe disposal of instruments. The standards may be modified as appropriate to protect consumers from the transmission of contagious diseases through cross-contamination of instruments and supplies. South Carolina S. Code Ann. §44-32-60 Body Piercing Facility. Prohibits anyone from performing body piercing on an individual under age 18. South Dakota  S. Codified Laws §9-34-17 Tattooing and body piercing. Any municipality may regulate the practice of tattooing and body piercing by licensing tattoo artists and practitioners of body piercing, inspecting tattoo and body piercing establishments, and establishing standards for sanitation that are at least as stringent as those adopted by the Department of Health  South Dakota  S. Codified Laws Ann. §26-10-19 Tattooing of a Minor – Requires anyone who is tattooing a minor under age 18 to obtain a signed consent form from the minor’s parents authorizing the tattoo. Tennessee  Tenn. Code Ann. §§62-38-201 to 62-38-212; §§62-38-301 to 62-38-310 Tattoos and Body Piercing. Tennessee  Tenn. Code Ann. §§62-38-211; 62-38-305 Tattooing of minors; Body Piercing of minors; consent required. Minors age 16 or older may be tattooed with the written consent of their parent or legal guardian to cover up an existing tattoo and requires the parent or legal guardian to be present during the procedure. Texas  Texas Health and Safety Code Ann. §146. 001 et seq. Tattoo and Certain Body Piercing Studios. A person may not conduct, operate, or maintain a tattoo studio unless the person holds a license issued by the department to operate the tattoo studio. Texas  Texas Health and Safety Code Ann. §§146. 012; 146. 124; 146. 125 Tattooing and Body Piercing on a Minor Prohibited; exceptions. Prohibits anyone from performing a tattoo or body piercing on a person under age 18 without the consent of a parent or guardian who believes it is in the best interest of the minor to cover an obscene or offensive tattoo. Utah  Utah Code Ann. §76-10-2201 Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor. Prohibits anyone from performing or offering to perform a tattoo or body piercing upon a minor without receiving the consent of the minor’s parent or legal guardian. Establishes that a person is not guilty of a violation if he or she had no actual knowledge of the minor’s age and reviewed, recorded and maintained a personal identification number for the minor prior to performing the body piercing or tattoo. Vermont  Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 26, §4101 to 4109 Tattooists and Body Piercers. Prohibits anyone from tattooing a minor without the written consent of his or her parent or guardian. Virginia  Va. Code §54. 1-700 et seq. Board of Barbers and Cosmetology Virginia  Va. Code §15. 2-912 Regulation of tattoo parlors and body-piercing salons. Any locality may by ordinance regulate the sanitary condition of the personnel, equipment and premises of tattoo parlors and body-piercing salons and specify procedures for enforcement of compliance with the disease control and disclosure requirements of § 18. Virginia  Va. Code §18. 2-371. Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor – Prohibits anyone from tattooing or performing body piercing on a person under age 18, knowing or having reason to believe that the person is under 18 except in the presence of the person’s parent or guardian or when done by or under the supervision of a medical doctor, registered nurse, or other medical services personnel in the performance of their duties. Excludes ear piercing as a form of body piercing. Washington  Wash. Rev. Code §70. 54. 320 to 70. 54. 350 Electrology, body art, body piercing, and tattooing. The secretary of health shall adopt by rule requirements, in accordance with nationally recognized professional standards, for precautions against the spread of disease, including the sterilization of needles and other instruments, including sharps and jewelry, employed by electrologists, persons engaged in the practice of body art, body piercing, and tattoo artists. Washington  Wash. Rev. Code § 18. 300; 18. 300. 005 to 18. 300. 902 Body Art, Body Piercing, and Tattooing. Washington  Wash. Rev. Code § 246-145-001 to 060 Body Art, Body Piercing, Electrology and Tattooing Standards for Sterilization Procedures and Infection Control. These rules establish standard universal precautions for preventing the spread of diseases by using sterilization procedures and infection control in the practices of electrology, body art, body piercing, and tattooing. Washington  Wash. Rev. Code §26. 28. 085 Tattooing of a Minor – Applying a tattoo to a minor under age 18 is illegal and violators are guilty of a misdemeanor. West Virginia  W. Va. Code §16-38-1 to 38-7 Tattoo Studio Business. West Virginia  W. Va. Code §16-37-1 to  Body Piercing Studio Business. West Virginia  W. Va. Code §16-38-3 Tattooing of a Minor – Requires prior written consent from a parent or guardian for the tattooing of a minor. Wisconsin Wis. Stat. §463. 10 Regulation of Tattooists. Department of Health Services shall provide uniform, statewide licensing and regulation of tattooists and uniform, statewide licensing and regulation of tattoo establishments under this section. The department shall inspect a tattoo establishment once before issuing a license for the tattoo establishment under this section and may make additional inspections that the department determines are necessary. Wisconsin  Wis. Stat. §948. 70 Tattooing of a Minor – Prohibits anyone other than a physician in the course of his or her professional practice from tattooing or offering to tattoo a child (under age 18). Wyoming Wyo. Stat. §14-3-107 Tattooing and Body Piercing of a Minor – defines “body-art” as the practice of body piercing, branding scarification, sculpting or tattooing. Prohibits any person from performing body-art on any person who has not reached the age of majority, except with the consent of the person’s parent or legal guardian who is present at the time the procedure is performed. Age must be verified with specified identification.
You might be interested:  When Can I Shower After A Tattoo?

.

Can you get a tattoo at 16 in Florida?

(1) A person may not tattoo the body of a minor child younger than 16 years of age unless the tattooing is performed for medical or dental purposes by a person licensed to practice medicine or dentistry under chapter 458, chapter 459, or chapter 466.

Can a 16 year old get a tattoo in Georgia?

Georgia Law on Tattooing of a Minor §16-5-71, it is illegal to tattoo anyone under 18 years old unless you are a licensed osteopath or technician acting under the direct supervision of a licensed physician or osteopath.

Can you get a tattoo at 17 in Mississippi?

Is your tattoo artist registered and licensed? Maura Moed (Body Ink Tattoos) 30 year-old Walls is accused of having inappropriate contact with two 15 year-old girls while giving them a tattoo. In Mississippi, it is a misdemeanor to tattoo someone less than 18 years of age, even if they have parental consent. Jim Craig is with the Health Department. He says there are ways for tattoo artists to ensure they are abiding by the law. “We require them to get information such as a driver’s license, and keep a copy of that for everyone they tattoo so that we have some verifications that they’re not tattooing people that are younger than 18,” says Craig.

  • Craig says if the Health department finds out about underage tattooing, local law enforcement will be notified;
  • This could result in a suspended or revoked license and a fine of $500 or more;
  • Jammal Jones tattoos a customer at Body Ink Tattoos in Jackson;

He says checking a client’s age is one of the most important things to do. “First of all, it’s somebody else’s shop, and they’ll get in trouble first. If the health department comes in and they see someone underage, everybody is in trouble. This is my livelihood.

Where are tattoos illegal?

Can I get a tattoo at 16 in Oregon?

Minimum Age for Becoming a Tattoo Artist – Not only do you have to be 18 to get a tattoo, you also have to be at least 18 to become a licensed tattoo artist. As proof of identity, you must produce two forms of original identification issued by a federal, state or local government agency in the United States.

You must show this identification when you sit for the licensing examination. In addition to being over 18, you must have a high school diploma or a G. and additional education from an Oregon licensed tattooing career school.

Minimum education requirements include 360 hours of training and a minimum of 50 completed procedures as an apprentice.

  • You must be at least 18 years old to get a tattoo in the state of Oregon, regardless of parental consent. Municipalities may set higher age requirements.

Can you get a tattoo at 16 in Idaho?

(3) No person shall knowingly tattoo, brand, facilitate use of a tanning device or perform body piercing on a minor between the ages of fourteen (14) and eighteen (18) years unless such person obtains the prior written informed consent of the minor’s parent or legal guardian.

What is the legal age to get a tattoo in Idaho?

Idaho Tattoo Laws, Legislation, and Regulations – Idaho Code § 18-1523 (2004) “Tattoo” means one (1) or more of the following but does not include any mark or design done for a medical purpose: (i) An indelible mark made on the body of another person by the insertion of a pigment under the skin; or (ii) An indelible design made on the body of another person by production of scars other than by branding.

  1. No person shall knowingly tattoo, brand or perform body piercing on a minor under the age of 14;
  2. Also makes it illegal to tattoo, brand or body pierce anyone between the ages of 14 and 18 without the written informed consent of the minor’s parent or legal guardian;

Ear piercing and any piercing done for medical reasons are not subject to this legislation. To find out more about legislation relating to tattooing or tattoo schools in Idaho, please visit the website of Idaho Department of Health and Welfare.

Can I get a tattoo at 16 in Vegas?

How Old Do I Have To Be To Get a Tattoo in Las Vegas? – According to the Southern Nevada Health District (SNHD), you must be at least 18 years of age or older to get a tattoo in Las Vegas. However, those between the ages of 14 and 18 may get a tattoo IF their legal parent or guardian is present (with proper identification and a copy of your birth certificate) or you have documentation that you have been legally emancipated.

That being said, some Las Vegas tattoo shops have their own rules about the minimum age to get a tattoo. Before you book an appointment or walk in, be sure to contact your tattoo parlor of choice to confirm their age requirements.

Also note that some tattoo shops do not allow anyone under the age of 18 inside the premises.

Can minors get tattoos in Vegas?

Return to Table of Contents 7. 1 Patron age requirements and other age restrictions 7. 1 No persons under the age of eighteen (18) shall be permitted to loiter in the tattoo area of the establishment, whether or not they are the children or wards of the Health Permit holder, responsible person, or any of the employees, operators, visiting artists, or patrons of the tattoo establishment.

  1. 2 Persons under the age of fourteen (14) shall not be permitted to enter the facility or have a tattoo applied in the tattoo establishment;
  2. Patrons between the ages of fourteen (14) and eighteen (18) are permitted in the tattoo area when receiving services in the presence of their legal parent or guardian or when they are legally emancipated by a court of competent jurisdiction and can provide documentation to that fact;

3 The tattoo establishment may set its own age restrictions regarding the presence of minors that are more stringent than those cited in these Regulations. 4 No person shall perform any tattoo procedure whatsoever upon a person under the age of fourteen (14) years, unless under the supervision of a medical professional.

Tattoo procedures performed upon a person under the age of eighteen (18) years require the written consent and proper identification of a parent or guardian unless the person has been emancipated by a court of competent jurisdiction and can provide legal documentation stating this fact.

Any tattoos performed on a minor must be done in the presence of a parent or guardian. 5 Nothing in this section is intended to require a tattoo operator to perform any tattoo on a person under eighteen (18) years of age, even with parental or guardian consent.

  • 6 Age of all patrons must be verified by government-issued photographic identification and documented prior to the procedure being performed;
  • 7 The government-issued photographic identification of all patrons twenty-one (21) years of age or younger must be photocopied and kept with the patron’s paperwork;

8 Government-issued photographic identification provided by the parent or guardian of a patron under the age of eighteen (18) must be photocopied and kept with the patron’s paperwork. A certified copy of a birth certificate, guardianship papers, or other document where both the adult and minor’s names are listed can be used to document the authenticity of the relationship.

2 Patron advisements Before administering tattoos, the patron must be advised that the tattoo should be considered permanent; that it can only be removed with a surgical procedure; and that any effective removal may leave permanent scarring and disfigurement.

A written cautionary notice to that effect, in a form approved by the Health Authority, must be furnished to the patron. The patron must sign a copy of the notice, indicating it was read and understood, which will then be placed in the patron’s records kept at the tattoo establishment.

  1. 3 Patron assessments 7;
  2. 1 Tattoos may not be administered to any person under the influence of drugs or alcohol;
  3. The tattoo operator and tattoo establishment are charged with the responsibility of making reasonable observations and inquiries to determine that the patron is in fact sober, and not under the influence of intoxicating substances;

If the tattoo operator has reasonable suspicion that a person is under the influence he may decline to apply a tattoo at that time. 2 The patron must be asked before the tattoo procedure whether he has had a history of jaundice or hepatitis within twelve (12) months preceding that date.

3 The tattoo operator may decline to perform a procedure on any would-be patron whom the tattoo operator suspects to have a communicable disease. 4 The skin surface to be tattooed must be visibly free of rash, pimples, infection or scar tissue.

The patron must be in apparent good health, and the skin to be tattooed generally must be in a healthy condition to all appearances. 5 The tattoo operator may decline to perform a procedure on any patron at any time for any reason if he deems it likely that the procedure is not appropriate for that person at that time or if he deems that the patron is currently likely to bring harm to the tattoo operator, himself, or others within the tattoo establishment (e.

  • , they are in an agitated or belligerent state);
  • 4 No food, beverage, or smoking in tattoo area The patron and/or the tattoo operator must not bring food or drink into a tattoo area, and must not smoke during the tattoo procedure;

An enclosed beverage such as bottled water may be provided to prevent dehydration if the procedure is lengthy. 5 Record keeping 7. 1 The tattoo establishment must keep a permanent record of all patrons receiving tattoos, stating: 7. 1 The patron’s name, age, and address; 7.

2 The date of procedure, 7. 3 The tattoo operator’s name, 7. 4 The place on the patron’s body where the tattoo was applied, and 7. 5 A reasonably accurate description of the design of the tattoo that is sufficient to identify it as the tattoo applied by that particular tattoo establishment and tattoo operator.

2 Such records shall be: 7. 1 Kept at the physical location of the tattoo establishment unless written permission is granted otherwise by the Health Authority. 2 Maintained in an orderly manner, filed by month and year, to facilitate retrieval of records.

Can you get a tattoo at 16 with parental consent in Las Vegas?

Yes, we get this question a few times a month at least. How old to I have to be to get a tattoo? The minimum age requirement to get tattooed in Nevada is 14 with parental consent. However, we DO NOT tattoo anyone under the age of 18 at Inner Visions Tattoo and there are some really good reasons behind this.

  1. Reason #1;
  2. Of all the people I’ve tattooed in my 20+ year tattoo career, most of the cover up tattoos I have done are on people who got tattooed at a young age;
  3. It’s very common to hear the phrase “I got this tattoo when I was 15 and now I hate it;

Can you cover it up?” A phrase I’ve never heard anyone say is “I got this tattoo when I was 15 and I love it!” Lets face it, when we’re teenagers we don’t have the foresight to know what we will like when we are in our 20’s, 30’s, 40’s and beyond. We think our favorite band or favorite video games ( or other popular culture) will define us for the rest of our lives.

I speak from experience on this one, the psychedelic mushroom and skull tattoo I got as a teenager (go ahead and laugh) caused a lot of embarrassment as I got older. It’s now covered up and I feel a lot better about taking my shirt off in public.

You might be interested:  How To Choose A Cover Up Tattoo?

The first thing that comes to mind when you think of cover up tattoos would be someone’s name, but almost all the cover ups I do are teenage regrets. Reason #2. As a teenager, your body is not done growing. I have seen tattoos that started out in the center of the arm as a teenager, and as an adult, the tattoo has shifted off center and looks crooked.

  • The worst case I’ve ever seen was a client who got his last name tattooed across his back when he was 16;
  • He continued growing and his shoulders got a little more broader as an adult;
  • The tattoo was severely warped and stretched out;

As an adult it was so crooked that it was no longer legible. And as you can imagine, that tattoo turned into a huge cover up! Reason #3. The 3rd and final reason is to protect our asses! Although we do our best to check IDs and verify everyone’s age and identity, you never know if it’s a cool uncle that’s bringing the minor in without the parents knowledge.

  • There is also a rise in parents and children with different last names and that’s another difficulty to confirm;
  • There has also been cases of lawsuits against tattoo artists from the non consenting parent;

We just don’t need to deal with the headaches. Often times when we explain that we don’t tattoo minors, we are asked for a referral to a tattoo shop that tattoos minors in Las Vegas. I’m always at a loss for referrals. All of the reputable shops that I am aware of have a similar policy of NOT tattooing minors.

  1. I’m not saying there are no reputable that shops that tattoo minors, but there are none that I know of;
  2. Most reputable tattoo shops , for reasons stated above will not tattoo minors;
  3. I can say that here at Inner Visions Tattoo, we stay busy enough with our tattoo appointments and walk ins as well;

We are not hard up to where we would have to lower our standards and compromise our integrity. Getting a tattoo is a lifelong commitment, and we strive to provide the best service possible and to make sure our clients receive the best tattoo. We take many factors into consideration when we tattoo our clients.

  • Not only do we consider the proper placement and design of the tattoo, but we do it in a way as to make sure the tattoo will age well and still look good 15-20 years down the road;
  • Our integrity and world class service blended with a culture that revolves around art is what has earned us the honor of being the top rated custom shop in Las Vegas;

It is also one of the major factors of us being voted the best tattoo shop in Las Vegas year after year. If you have any questions about a tattoo or would like to set up a Free Consultation , you can contact us here. Thanks, and feel free to leave us a comment and suggest any other questions or topics tha t you’d like us to discuss! Click Below for any questions you may have about getting a new tattoo!.

How old do you have to be to get a tattoo in Tennessee 2022?

Wisconsin –

  • Young adults who are 18+ can get a tattoo, while body piercings are excepted.
  • Tattooing is not permitted for those younger than the age of 18.
  • A physician can provide tattooing/piercing in the course of their professional practice.

What does 13 in a tattoo mean?

By C1 Staff Jail staff can stay safer by knowing as much as they can about inmates. And sometimes, inmates make it easy to know exactly what they’ve been up to through the use of tattoos. Here are 15 tattoos and their secret meanings. Know a different meaning for the tattoos displayed here? Share it in the comments. 1488   (Photo freetattoodesigns. org) This number can be found on white supremacist/Nazi inmates. The numbers 14 or 88 on their own can also be used, which sometimes creates confusion. Fourteen represents fourteen words, which are a quote by Nazi leader David Lane: “We must secure the existence of our people and a future for White Children.

Be sure to check out more of our coverage on prison tattoos, including 15 more prison tattoos and their meanings , 12 Russian prison tattoos and their meanings , and a collection of inmate takes on prison ink.

” The 88 is shorthand for the 8 th letter of the alphabet twice, HH, which represents Heil Hitler. Typically, these tattoos can be found anywhere on the body. The Cobweb  (Photo Timeless Tattoos Glasglow) Cobwebs typically represent a lengthy term in prison. The symbolism is associated with spiders trapping prey; or criminals trapped behind bars. This tattoo is commonly found on the elbow, signifying sitting around so long with your elbows on the table that a spider made a web on your elbow, though it can also be located on the neck. Teardrop  (Photo trendfashion2013) One of the most widely recognized prison tattoos, the teardrop’s meaning varies geographically. In some places, the tattoo can mean a lengthy prison sentence, while in others it signifies that the wearer has committed murder. If the teardrop is just an outline, it can symbolize an attempted murder. It can also mean that one of the inmate’s friends was murdered and that they are seeking revenge.

If you see a multi-colored web, it’s probably not a prison tattoo; tattoo ‘artists’ in jail rarely have access to colored ink. The teardrop has been popularized recently by rappers and other celebrities, but still remains a staple in prisons.

Those who are newbies behind bars with a teardrop tattoo will make a lot of enemies, fast. Five-point crown  (Photo Gwan Soon Lee Tattoo) This is the symbol of the Latin Kings gang, which is one of the biggest Hispanic gangs in the U. based out of Chicago. The crown will often be accompanied by the letters ALKN, which stands for Almighty Latin Kings Nation. The five points are due to the Latin Kings being an affiliate of the People Nation gang, which is represented by the number five. Latin Kings have a huge presence both in and out of prison, and their roots go back to the 1940s. Three dots (Photo Whiserkino) The three dots tattoo is a common prison tattoo that represents “mi vida loca,” or “my crazy life. ” It’s not associated with any particular gang, but with the gang lifestyle itself. This tattoo is typically found on the hands or around the eyes. It can also carry some religious significance, such as representing Christianity’s holy trinity. The three dot tattoo is often created using a stick-and-poke method, requiring very rudimentary tools. Five dots   (Photo My Sarisari Store) These dots differ greatly from the previous tattoo – five dots represents time done in prison. Also known as the quincunx, the four dots on the outside represent four walls, with the fifth on the inside representing the prisoner. This tattoo can be found internationally, among both American and European inmates. The dots are typically found on an inmate’s hand, between the thumb and forefinger. The clock with no hands  (Photo Tattoo Me Pink) This tattoo is, fairly obviously, representative of ‘doing time’ and doing a lot of it. Those serving a longer sentence might get this tattoo done on their wrist, with watch straps and all, much like a real watch. The clock face itself can come in a few forms, such as the face of a wall clock or a grandfather clock. Not all clock tattoos are tied to prison; generally just the ones lacking hands. Aryan Brotherhood  (Photo Media Lib) This prison gang has a variety of tattoos to look out for, ranging from ‘AB’ to Nazi symbols like a swastika or SS bolts. The Brotherhood makes up 1 percent of the inmate population, but are responsible for 20 percent of murders inside of U. prisons, so identifying these tattoos are extremely beneficial. The tattoos can also be referred to as Alice Baker, the One-Two, or The Brand. Norte ñ o  (Photo Know Gangs) Norteño tattoos represent the Nuestra Familia gang, which is associated with Hispanic gangs in Northern California. Their tattoos include the word Norteño, Nuestra Familia, a sombrero symbol, the letter N or the number 14, symbolizing the 14 th letter of the alphabet (yup – the letter N). The Norteños are rivals of the Suerños, Hispanic gangs based out of Southern California.

Other details of the crown, such as the colors of the jewels in the points, can have a whole other level of hidden meanings. Five dots on other parts of the body can have different meanings, such as an association with the People Nation gang.

The unofficial dividing line between the two is in Delano, California. The Norteños identify themselves with red bandanas and mainly get their income from smuggling and distributing cocaine, heroin and meth. La Eme   (Photo Police Mag) ‘La Eme,’ or The M, is the symbol of the Mexican Mafia. They are one of the largest and most ruthless prison gangs in the U. They’re allied with the Aryan Brotherhood, and have a common enemy in the Nuestra Familia. La Eme was started not in Mexico, but in Mexican-Americans who were incarcerated in American prisons. MS 13  (Photo Wikimedia) The MS 13, also sometimes seen just as MS or 13, is a symbol of the Mara Salvatrucha gang from El Salvador. Typically these tattoos can be found anywhere on the body, but are most often found in highly visible places like the face, hands or neck. LA Mara Salvatrucha was started in the Los Angeles area by El Salvadoran immigrants. There are now MS-13 chapters all over the U. Playing cards  (Photo Tattos Time) Playing cards, or suits of the deck in general, usually indicate an inmate who likes to gamble. This applies to gambling games both within prison and without; it can also represent a person who generally views life as a gamble. This tattoo is very popular in Russian prisons, where each deck has its own meaning. A spade represents a thief; clubs symbolize criminals in general.

La Eme is a Sureño gang, belonging to a large affiliation of Hispanic gangs in Southern California. and even in Canada. Their industries range from dealing drugs to child prostitution. Diamonds are reserved for stoolpigeons and informants – if the cards have this deck, then it was likely applied with force.

Hearts imply that someone is looking for a romantic partner in the prison, which may also be forcibly applied. EWMN  (Photo Turner) These letters stand for ‘Evil, Wicked, Mean, Nasty. ‘ Having no particular affiliation with any gang, they simply represent the general disposition of some prison inmates. Typically found on the knuckles, these types of tattoos were popularized in 1955 by Robert Mitchum in ‘The Night of the Hunter. ‘ His sociopathic preacher character had the words ‘love’ and ‘hate’ tattooed on the knuckles of each hand, which has brought about other variants such as ‘Rock/Roll’ and ‘Stay/Down. ‘ Cross on the chest  (Photo Adimaz) Particularly found in Russian prisons, chest tattoos symbolize a ‘Prince of Thieves. ‘ This is the highest rank a Russian convict can achieve, and are generally worn by higher-ups in the mob. Russian prisons have a unique and intricate history of prison tattoos, each with their own unique meaning. Another example are bells, symbolizing freedom, or a tiger on the chest is symbolic of aggression toward the police. A. (Photo SAS) This acronym is commonly found on the bodies of British prisoners and stands for “All Cops Are Bastards. ” Some claim that A. also stands for “Always Carry A Bible,” but these are widely believed to be people who regret their tattoo decision.

Is it illegal to tattoo at home in Tennessee?

(a) For the purposes of this section, “tattoo paraphernalia” includes, but is not limited to, any equipment, design patterns or needles used or intended for use in tattooing, whether professionally made or homemade, with the intent to permanently mark or color the skin with any pigment, ink, or dye that leaves a visible scar on the skin.

(b) (1) Except when used or possessed with the intent to use by a person licensed under this part, it is unlawful for any person to use, or to possess with intent to use, tattoo paraphernalia. (2) Any person who violates this subsection (b) commits a Class A misdemeanor.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Tennessee may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site.

How much do tattoos cost?

Factors of Average Tattoo Prices – There is a lot that goes into figuring out the cost of your new tattoo. It isn’t a straight forward answer. Things like materials, size, location, and type of tattoo affect the price. On average you can expect to charge $50-100 for a small tattoo, up to $200 for a medium tattoo and over $250 for a large tattoo.