What Is The Age You Can Get A Tattoo?

What Is The Age You Can Get A Tattoo
18 years old In the United States there is no federal law regulating the practice of tattooing. However, all 50 states and the District of Columbia have statutory laws requiring a person receiving a tattoo be at least 18 years old.

Can I get a tattoo if I’m under 18?

Depending on where you live, a minor—an individual under the age of 18—may be able to get a tattoo or a body piercing without your consent. Each state establishes it’s own rules about body art so you’ll need to know the law in your area.

What is the legal age to get a tattoo in California?

What Should The Age Limit Be For Tattoos? | Tattoo Artists Answer

Idaho –

  • No tattooing, branding, or body piercing of minors under the age of 14.
  • Minors aged 14-18 need the written consent and the presence of the parent or legal guardian to receive a piercing or tattoo.

What is the average age of people who get tattoos?

If you think you’re too old to get a tattoo, think again. Studies  show that almost 30% of people getting tattoos are adults between the ages of 40 and 50. A smaller percentage of 16% are those over the age of 50, deciding to go for a tattoo. But, several questions need to be answered when it comes to this topic.

  • Why is it that adults or older people are only now getting tattoos? And why is this such a taboo topic? In the following paragraphs, we’ll take an honest look at the relationship between age and the tattoo;
You might be interested:  What Tattoo Means Strength?

We’ll also tackle the cultural aspect of getting a tattoo at an older age, and what it actually represents for the person getting tattooed. So, without further ado, let’s get started!.

Can a minor get a tattoo without consent?

Tennessee –

  • A minor older than 16-years-old may get a tattoo to cover an existing tattoo, require their parent to be present, and have ID.
  • Minors need written consent and the presence of the parent or legal guardian to receive a piercing.