How Old To Get A Tattoo With Parental Consent?

How Old To Get A Tattoo With Parental Consent
Other Countries –

  • Austria, Germany, and Denmark also have an age minimum of 18, but with some exceptions.
  • Countries like Bulgaria, Czech Republic, and Hungary have no age restrictions
  • Spain allows minors as young as 14 to be tattooed with parent consent.
  • France has an age minimum of 16.

How Old To Get A Tattoo With Parental Consent.

Can a 14 year old get a tattoo without parental consent?

Lists of states and their tattooing laws – The minimum age to get a tattoo is 18 in most of the United States, and also in the United Kingdom, Canada and Australia. In some cases you might be able to get a tattoo even if you are younger than 18 years old, however with a parent consent, and depending on the state.

State  What age can you get a tattoo? Tattoo age notes
Alabama  No minimum tattoo age  Minors need a written parent consent, which needs to be signed by the artist/ service provider too.
Alaska 18 years old Tattoos are prohibited for minors.
Arizona No minimum tattoo age  Minors can get a tattoo, however a parent has to be present.
Arkansas No minimum tattoo age A parent’s signature is required for tattooing a minor.
California 18 years old Tattoos are prohibited for minors
Colorado No minimum tattoo age  Minors need parental consent for a tattoo.
Connecticut No minimum tattoo age  Minors need parental consent and a physician or registered nurse must be present during tattooing.
District of Columbia  18 years old  Tattoos are prohibited on minors.
Delaware No minimum tattoo age Minors need parental consent for a tattoo.
Florida 16 years old  Minors need parental consent for a tattoo.
Georgia 18 years old Minors can only be tattooed by a licensed physician or under their supervision 
Hawaii No minimum tattoo age Minors need parental consent; consent forms are kept for two years confidentially.
Idaho 14 years old  Minors 14-18 can be tattooed, but it requires consent in the presence of the tattoo artist.
Illinois No minimum tattoo age Minors need parental consent; minors can only be tattooed by a physician.
Indiana No minimum tattoo age Minors need a guardian present and written consent to be tattooed.
Iowa 18 years old Minors are prohibited from being tattooed.
Kansas 16 years old Minors need written parental consent.
Kentucky No minimum tattoo age Minors need parental consent.
Louisiana 16 years old Minors need parental consent.
Maine  18 years old Tattooing a minor is illegal.
Maryland No minimum tattoo age Minors need written parental consent, which must be retained for 3 years.
Massachusetts No minimum tattoo age Minors can only be tattooed by a licensed physician.
Michigan No minimum tattoo age Minors need parental consent.
Minnesota No minimum age Minors need parental consent.
Mississippi 18 years old Tattoos are prohibited on minors.
Missouri No minimum tattoo age Minors need parental consent, and parents must be present.
Montana No minimum tattoo age Minors need parental consent.
Nebraska No minimum tattoo age Minors need written parental consent.
Nevada No minimum tattoo age Tattooing isn’t regulated by the state except in Clark County (Las Vegas).
New Hampshire No minimum tattoo age Minors need a parent present and written consent.
New Jersey 16 years old Minors need parental consent.
New Mexico No minimum tattoo age Minors need written parent consent and presence during the procedure.
New York  18 years old  Tattooing minors is prohibited, punishable with a class B misdemeanor.
North Carolina 18 years old  Tattooing minors is prohibited.
North Dakota  No minimum tattoo age Parental consent and presence required to tattoo a minor.
Ohio No minimum tattoo age Parental consent and presence required to tattoo a minor.
Oklahoma 18 years old  Licensure is required by the State Department of Public Health for tattoo artists.
Oregon  18 years old  Licensing is required.
Pennsylvania No minimum tattoo age Parental consent and presence required to tattoo a minor.
Rhode Island 18 years old  Sterilization and sanitation requirements must be met.
South Carolina 18 years old  Tattoos are prohibited for those under 21. Parental consent required if over 18.
South Dakota No minimum tattoo age Signed parental consent to tattoo a minor.
Tennessee 16 years old Minors 16 and up can be tattooed with written parental consent.
Texas 18 years old  Tattooing minors is prohibited UNLESS to cover an existing obscene or offensive tattoo. Parental consent is required.
Utah No minimum tattoo age Tattoos on minors require written parental consent.
Vermont No minimum tattoo age Parental consent required to tattoo a minor.
Virginia No minimum tattoo age Tattooing a minor requires consent unless done by a physician.
Washington 18 years old  Tattooing a minor is illegal and prohibited.
West Virginia No minimum tattoo age Minors require written consent.
Wisconsin No minimum tattoo age Only physicians can tattoo minors.
Wyoming No minimum tattoo age Minors need parental consent and to be present at the time of tattooing. Age must be verified with ID.
You might be interested:  How Bad Does A Wrist Tattoo Hurt?

.

What is the legal age to get a tattoo?

Texas –

  • Tattoos and body piercings are permitted for young individuals aged 18 and over.
  • A parent/guardian must offer written authorization and be present during the process for tattoos that cover an existing tattoo or piercings.
  • Body piercing laws and statutes do not apply to ear piercing.

Related post: How To Email A Tattoo Artist 2022: Best Thing You Need To Know How Much Is An Average Tattoo 2022: Full Sleeve, Leg,… Tattoo Cost Top 40 Creative Henna Tattoo Designs And Meaning: Best Trending Ideas 2022.

Can a 16 year old get a tattoo in TN?

Tennessee –

  • A minor older than 16-years-old may get a tattoo to cover an existing tattoo, require their parent to be present, and have ID.
  • Minors need written consent and the presence of the parent or legal guardian to receive a piercing.

Can a 14 year old get a tattoo in Idaho?

Idaho –

  • No tattooing, branding, or body piercing of minors under the age of 14.
  • Minors aged 14-18 need the written consent and the presence of the parent or legal guardian to receive a piercing or tattoo.